Meal Prep Revitalization

So, as I’ve shared in the past, I’m not a huge meal prep supporter.. However now that I’m responsible for all of my own meals, I’ve concluded it may be time to dabble in a bit of food planning.

This shift isn’t for the purpose of staying on track for gains, but to help me keep my sanity… bc I hate rushing & not knowing what/when I’m going to eat. I also don’t want to spend my time after work making food.. 

SO! I tested the waters last week with my new rice/slow cooker (thank you to my family for being great gift-givers).

I’m always hungry so I decided ‘yea, I should definitely make 3 four-serving cups of rice :D’ & added some peas & black beans to the mix.

Well, a week later, I’ve been eating the same damn rice for a week. Which is exactly why I’ve always avoided meal prepping. LOL @ the irony right??

Yesterday I figured out an easy way to re-purpose my remaining servings of rice. It was super simple, & delicious! I’m here to share my steps to revitalized meal prep

Step One: Make way too much rice (& beans & peas) 

 
Step Two: scramble egg w/ butter

  
Step Three: Heat frozen (or fresh) veggies in olive oil (or butter) & season to taste

  
I used broccoli, carrots, & cauliflower. Seasoned with black pepper, cayenne pepper, & ‘French fry seasoning’ from the dollar store šŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

Step Four: COMBINE EVERYTHING!

  
Yay makeshift fried rice! Protein, veggies, carbs, & healthy fats!! šŸ˜€

What I’m learning is that leftovers & food planning doesn’t have to be a burden. This re-do of last week’s meal prep took me about 15 mins & was done on very low energy. 

I’ll share more as I climb the learning curve!! 

Enjoy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

