French Toast with a Dash of Protein

I’m all about high-protein recipes. If you can make a protein version of a food, I will. From pancakes to muffins to chilli, nothing is safe.. My family thinks it’s annoying but they will thank me when their muscles are happier than they’ve ever been! 

I was browsing le internet recently & found an article (click here to read) that had some info on how to turn an average breakfast classic into a protein-fest. 🙂 French Toast..plus protein.. Yes please!!

What You’ll Need

  

  • 1/2 cup milk (I used half & half because our milk was sour..always a nice discovery)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein (I only have chocolate so I ‘borrowed’ my moms Weight Watchers protein)
  • 4 eggs
  • 5 slices of bread
  • 1 tablespoon butter 
  • dash of cinnamon 
  • dash of vanilla extract

First step (which I regrettably skipped) is to melt the butter. It may have something to do with the protein powder, but solid butter didn’t blend into the mix.. 

Preheat your oven to 350 & lay some parchment paper on a baking sheet. 

Then you’ll add all of the ingredients to a blender or food processor. Mix them until they’re….well, mixed.

  
I cut my bread into strips, because French Toast Sticks seemed like a cool idea. 

  
Then you’ll dip your bread into the liquid mixture. It only works if your sink (like mine) is overflowing with dirty dishes. 

  
Line the strips on your baking sheet. This pic is funny because you can see how the unmelted butter literally didn’t mix with the other ingredients at all. It was too cool for them… 

After 10 mins you’ll want to flip the toast so both sides get evenly cooked & crisp. 

  
This is what a side that’s fully baked looks like. Delicious.

  

Top your toast with syrup, confectioners sugar, sprinkles, fruit, or even more French Toast- whatever you want! 

Enjoy your protein-filled breakfast!! Your muscles will thank you 🙂

~peace & all good~

Leave a Reply

