Sweet Potato Pancakes 

Fall has arrived. & there is no better way to spend a fall morning than with the sun warming your toes, hearty pancakes warming your belly, tea warming your soul, & a bee trying to fly up your nose! Welcome to my Sunday morning!!!

I decided to use the microwaveable sweet potatoes I had bought a few weeks ago. Actually, I only used one..but it’s progress. Sweet potatoes are full of wonderful vitamins & nutrients that our bodies need. Beta carotene, fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Vitamin C, Vitamins X, Y, & Z! You get the point. Sweet potatoes are cool AF. 

What better way to eat a really cool food than using them for something that’s also super cool?! PANCAKES 😀 Sweet potatoe pancakes make for a more satisfying pancake-eating experience than your typical pancake can give you. Trust me, I am a pancake expert (no I’m not at all). 

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1 cup sweet potato purée 
  • 1 egg
  • dash of cinnamon
  • smaller dash of nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder (I tend to confuse the two baking substances..)
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil/canola oil/olive oil – whatever oil you have
  • splash of vanilla 

I microwaved my sweet potato this morning, peeled the skin off, & mashed it with a fork. That was my ‘puree’…  
 

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl: flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg

  
Mix everything else together in a larger bowl. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet until they’re just combined. Leaving air bubbles/small clumps in the batter will make for fluffy pancakes!

  
Throw some butter in a pan & add however much batter you want to form your pancakes. I also added dark chocolate chips to one because it seemed like a great idea. It was. 

  
Mine took about 3 minutes on each side, then I gave them a few extra minutes to crisp up.

Top the magical pancakes off with maple syrup or whatever you desire. Homemade whipped cream would’ve been perfection…

  
Enjoy!!!! 🙂

  

Leave a Reply

