Being Human & the Inconsistencies That Follow

*Sunflower picture is irrelevant but I took it & liked it so there it is..*

As far as I know, everyone reading this is a human being.. & we all understand what being human means (for the most part). It means that everyday you wake up is different from the last. Your feelings may be inconsistent from day to day, your mindset, motivation, energy level, ability to perform various tasks…all changing on a pretty regular basis.

Today was one of those days where I really felt the inconsistent nature of being human.

I woke up feeling pretty good. I’ve been sore for the past few days because I’ve switched up my workout routine, but today I wasn’t too sore. After breakfast I played around with some head stands (upside down is my favourite place to be), stretched out, & drank some mate.


Head stands were on point & I was ready to take on my workout after a day of rest yesterday.

About a week ago (ha) I was able to reach a new weight while squatting.

I love squatting… I do it every time I go to the gym & lift. But because it’s something I do so regularly, the fluctuation of my daily mental/physical abilities really shines through. Today, my form was slacking & I was struggling to move the weight I usually use to warm up.

When I got home from the gym, I was hungry… (duh). I made a salad with:

  • spinach
  • seasoned black beans
  • yellow pepper
  • goat cheese
  • multi-grain chips

  It was as delicious as it looks! It was super quick to make & even quicker to eat 🙂
However, before the salad came a poptart…. Pumpkin pie flavor to be exact. I wouldn’t recommend it. But I ate it anyway.

So far, my day has been the epitome of the ups & downs that come with being a human. It’s frustrating to experience the downs, but the way our bodies & minds are set up allows us to roll with whatever comes our way. It is more than okay & perfectly normal to not be on your A-game everyday. That’s what makes us human!!

For me, I had a frustrating lifting session that wasn’t up to my normal standards & ate a snack I wouldn’t normally subject my body to. However, I also had great balance & focus in my yoga practice & made a healthy salad. This whole journey is full of learning opportunities that I think are really important to take advantage of.

If your day has you feeling down, just know that things will be up again- probably sooner than you think 🙂

~peace & all good~

Leave a Reply

