Just Breathe.. Right Now

Seriously, do it. It’s the middle of the week…maybe even the middle of your day. You have to breathe anyway in order to stay alive, so why not get something out of it?

I wanted to share a quick breathing practice I do when I’m feeling lost/anxious/confused/frazzled/off-balance/crappy/etc..

Put yourself in whatever position is available to you at the moment- sit, stand, lay, do a handstand, whatever suits your current location. Take a minute to close your eyes & just assess where you are mentally, emotionally, & physically. If you’re like “OK I think I’m on the edge of losing my mind” ….I’m right there with ya…pretty much every day of my life. I think my mind may be very lost & it’s possible it will never be found. But that’s a different story for another day.

Wherever you feel you are at this moment, try to be fully aware of yourself. How does your body feel? Are you hungry? Thirsty? Tired? Energized? What thoughts are running through your mind? Maybe there’s way too many to every process, that’s okay!

Take a deep inhale in through your nose for as many seconds as you can. Exhale for a few seconds longer. Try to do both through your nose, but don’t stress if you’re a mouth-breather…it happens.

While you’re taking deep breaths in & out, start to repeat a positive thought to yourself. Here’s an example: “I am going to have a successful day”, or “My life has a purpose”, or “I am letting go of today’s frustrations”, or anything else that you feel will brighten your mental space.

Once you feel like you’ve de-stressed, gotten rid of some anxiety, or get interrupted- restart your obligations with a calmer mind!

*** If taking some deep breaths isn’t enough for you to clear your mind & you’re under extreme stress- try Bach’s Rescue Pastilles. These little chews are all-natural stress relievers. They’ve helped me numerous times when I felt I was going to be taken over by anxiety.. So! I highly recommend them if you experience high stress/anxiety. You don’t have to do it alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

