CLEAN Pasta Salad w. Greek Yogurt Dressing

Before I say anything, I got this recipe from @livegreenhealthy ‘s Instagram account. So you may want to follow them for more ideas like this one//to see other food-related accounts. Because popular food accounts literally just shout out other accounts…all the time…

So. This recipe is for a clean  pasta salad. I’m not a huge pasta fan, but if it’s a mixture of other things with pasta I am alllll about it. This salad is pretty awesome because it works if you want to clean up your eating habits (lol), you’re trying to live in Gain City, or you’re just a hungry individual. I find myself fitting into all three categories…

Disclaimer: I don’t like following recipes, so I kind of left some things out & basically eye-balled all of the measurements.

First, you’re going to make whatever type of pasta you want. I used whole wheat because it’s the best in my opinion. The recipe calls for quinoa pasta. Whatever you choose, boil that H2O & cook the carbs.

The fixins: a can of black beans, a bag/can of sweet corn, two diced tomatoes. I used frozen corn, so I had to microwave it for a few minutes. Recipe called for avocados & silly me forgot them. I was very sad when I realized what I was missing..
 Add a small can of black olives if you so desire.

Throw everything into a large bowl, you’ll want some room to mix in the dressing. Or you could leave the dressing ~on the side~

Now for the dressing! The fun part 🙂

This is everything I used for my dressing:

  • 1.5 cups Fage Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • dash of ground cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, & ground cayenne
  • tablespoon chilli powder
  • some cilantro & oregano (don’t remember the exact amounts..)

Recipe calls for limes, I used a lemon…I’m quite the rebel. I also like to use full fat Greek yogurt- I suggest full fat dairy in general because there’s less sugar. If you’re more comfortable using fat free, do what makes you happy!

I used a good amount of yogurt, & added the spices to taste. Using yogurt for a dressing seems strange but it’s like a totally blank slate you can flavor however you want. Plus, an opportunity to add protein should always be used.

Mix the dressing & adjust it to meet your preferences.

 Here I am, struggling to get the dressing onto the pasta…I was also using a fork…so.. Maybe leaving the dressing on the side is for the best.

 Ta-da! A clean & filling dinner!

I used a full box of pasta, which made enough for my family (4 people) to each have 2 servings. I liked this recipe because it makes a good amount of salad & it doesn’t call for anything that may offend your wallet. I’m very conscious of food costs…I don’t want out on my own & have to completely re-vamp my eating habits. I also don’t necessarily enjoy spending hours prepping/cooking/mixing/etc…. So pretty much anything I’ll be posting will be budget-friendly & not very time-consuming 🙂

If you try this salad let me know what you think!!

Leave a Reply

